About the Music Department

Mission

In keeping with the mission of San Joaquin Delta College, it is the mission of the Department of Music to offer lower division courses which will:

  • Prepare students with the knowledge, skills, and competencies in musicianship, music theory, music history and literature, and performance necessary for transfer at the upper division level to a baccalaureate degree program in music.
  • Provide non-major students with opportunities to develop awareness and understanding of music as an integral part of the liberal arts education and the human experience.
  • Provide vocal and instrumental performance opportunities for adults seeking the development of musical expression and skills in a non-credit educational format.
  • Serve the educational and cultural needs of the community through the presentation of various concerts, recitals, and clinics by both student and professional musicians.

Faculty

Anyone desiring further information on the music courses and programs at San Joaquin Delta College can visit, call or write any of the individuals below for more details.

General Music Questions

Stefan Orozco, Music Lab Inst. Asst,. II
Music Lab, (209) 954-5250
Location: Holt 105

Theory/Composition

Aaron Garner, Professor - Music Theory
(209) 954-5214, Email:agarner@deltacollege.edu

Jazz Studies

Brian Kendrick, Director of Jazz Studies
(209) 954-5294, Email: bkendrick@deltacollege.edu

Choral/Vocal

Dr. Bruce Southard, Director of Choral Studies
(209) 954-5255, Email: bsouthard@deltacollege.edu

Delta Band Director

MJ Wamhoff, Band Director
(209) 954-5282, Email: mwamhoff@deltacollege.edu

Piano Accompanist

Matthew Baer, Piano Accompanist
(209) 954-5275, Email: mbaer@deltacollege.edu

Arts & Communication Division

Chris Guptill, Dean
(209) 954-5209, Email: cguptill@deltacollege.edu

Current Associate Adjunct Professors

Mailing Address

San Joaquin Delta College
Department of Music
5151 Pacific Avenue
Stockton, California 95207